Built in 1908 by Henry Haskamp, the Manitou Hotel was the first hotel in Watrous and was located at the corner of Main Street and First Avenue East. An elegant dining room faced 1st Avenue. Advertisements read: “Steam heated, gas lighted, rates $1.50 and $2.00 per day.” A bar operated in the north side of the main floor until 1915. Dr. Agar operated his dental practice from the hotel.
Between the late 1920’s until 1935, the government liquor board had a store in the hotel. From 1946 to 1960, Bill and Helen Proctor operated a cafe. During a storm in 1976 the roof was damaged and the top floor of the hotel was removed.
Manitou Hotel was purchased by the current owner Lane Manson 100 years later. At only 24 with more enthusiasm (and balls) than brains, the first order of business was to fix up the 10 rooms located on the second floor. Next was to purchase what was previously Cathy’s Sub & Cone and convert it into six short-term accommodation rentals and move the kitchen equipment to the bar in order to provide full-service food. A full-time kitchen had not ran at the location since the cafe closed in 1960.
Meanwhile, the dining room known for VLT’s and friendly happy hour had started to host numerous events including live music, DJ nights, stag/stagette parties and pub crawls. A full renovation of the dining room including the addition of the golf simulators happened in 2012, updating the washrooms and adding space in the dining room. There continues to be improvements including the renovation of the offsale in 2016 to expand service including wine and liquor retail at competitive prices.
Through the years, TB’s continues to try to grow and expand the brand focusing on customer experience and modernizing our techniques and facilities—while always sticking to our roots as the original place for people from all over to get together and have a good time.